I NEVER DOUBTED HIS LOVE

Pops/Daddy

     Seven months ago today I said good-bye to one of the pillars of my life….. my one and only Daddy…  He taught me about life and love in a way that no one else could have.  He wasn’t a perfect man by any means, but he was strong and in many ways just a big ol’ teddy bear.

      The last 12 years of his life were hard years.  Years that he battled his body not cooperating with him, but one thing about him, I never doubted his love.  We are a lot alike in so many ways and I know that is why at times we locked horns like we did. 

      The one thing about my Daddy is that I never doubted his love.  I may have longed for his approval at times when I didn’t get it.  I’m sure I disappointed him more times than I could count, but I never doubted his love.  That has always been a constant in my life and for that I bless the Lord.  I’m glad that his struggle has ended for him.  Although I’m very sad for us and I hate the empty part of our lives here without him.  Nothing is the same, but that’s life.  Nothing ever stays the same.  And I know this, he is in Heaven in the presence of God and in the arms of Jesus.

      Something that I’ve learned is when I really miss my Daddy, if I’ll press in to the presence of God Almighty I’m with him.  Paul said to be absent from this body is to be present with the Lord.  So, if I’m in the presence of the Lord, I know that in a special way I’m with my Daddy.

     He left us a mighty legacy.  He wasn’t a perfect man, by any means, but HE WAS A FAITHFUL MAN.   That speaks volumes in and of itself.

     Father, tonight I thank you for giving me my Daddy.  He taught me so many things about life, love and you.  I bless you for the precious gift and most of all for the extra 11 days that you gave us with him…. In Jesus Name I pray that if you tarry the coming of the Lord that all of his children, grandchildren and so on and so on will be faithful first of all to you and then to the people in their lives.  Amen…

Leave a Reply

